Do people aspire to be corporate pilots?

Discussion of topics related to corporate aviation throughout the world.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore

JohnnyHotRocks
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Do people aspire to be corporate pilots?

Post by JohnnyHotRocks »

Does anyone actually dream of becoming a corporate pilot, or is it something people tend to do when they dont make it into an airline?
Discuss...
---------- ADS -----------

DanWEC
Rank 10
Rank 10

Re: Do people aspire to be corporate pilots?

Post by DanWEC »

Yes to A. No idea about B.

whistlerboy02
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by whistlerboy02 »

Geeze Hotrocks you have a gift with words...... yes I am a corporate pilot and no I didn't flunk out of airline school to get here.
Id say compared to my airline buddies the flying is alot more interesting, the pay is initially better (after 10 yrs they will make more) and I fly alot less per month. I work with a great bunch of guys and enjoy my time on the road.

Roar
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by Roar »

I fly corporate because I really enjoy it, it's a great lifestyle. The Airlines are not the end all be all of aviation.

"If nothing else works, a total pig-headed unwillingness to look facts in the face will see us through."
Gilles Hudicourt
Rank 10
Rank 10

Post by Gilles Hudicourt »

I wanted to be any kind of pilot fate and chance would allow, and I enjoyed every flying job I ever had.

wallypilot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by wallypilot »

I was always aiming for corporate. The airlines were a fallback in case I never made it into a good corporate gig. airline flying was never my first choice.

V2plus10
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by V2plus10 »

I never aspired for either, only to have a flying job that supported an enjoyable life. The decision to go corporate was made very quickly upon researching current pay scales (Fairly recently). I'm now making 15-20k more than my friends who chose Encore/Jazz and I have more days off than a few of them combined.