Smart Phone Question

Having difficulties with AvCanada Forums, the internet etc.. ask your questions here.

Moderators: ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

Post Reply
Message
Author
Mapleflt
Rank 6
Rank 6
Posts: 404
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:13 pm

Smart Phone Question

#1 Post by Mapleflt » Sun Oct 30, 2011 4:19 am

To the guys who know this stuff MUCH better then I would the following idea work. Can a unlocked smart phone switch between simcards as required. Would unlocking it lift any application blocks associated with a specific simcard or phone number.

Cheers, Mapleflag
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
200hr Wonder
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2147
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:52 pm
Location: CYVR
Contact:

Re: Smart Phone Question

#2 Post by 200hr Wonder » Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:17 am

Not too sure what you are asking, however unlocking your phone allows you to simply use any sim card to use the phone as is. Infact in Europe it is illegal to sell a locked phone. So my iPhone which is unlocked I can put any compatiable sim card in and off I go.

As for application blocks, I am unsure of what you mean? Do you mean facetime or Skype over 3G type of restrictions?
---------- ADS -----------
  
Cheers,

200hr Wonder

Louis
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 997
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: CYUL

Re: Smart Phone Question

#3 Post by Louis » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:34 am

It'd be best if you could tell us what platform and what applications we're talking about so you can get an informed answer...

My Androids are unlocked and I can switch SIM cards as I please.

In the case of Android Market, there are some regional restrictions based on which SIM card you're using when you want to install new apps, but beyond that, not really.

As a silly example, I was unable to install (or even find) some free apps made by Geico (an American car insurance company) with my Canadian SIM card, but putting in my American SIM and then connecting over wifi worked perfectly. Once installed, I can still use the apps with my Canadian SIM in place.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Expat
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2383
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 3:58 am
Location: Central Asia

Re: Smart Phone Question

#4 Post by Expat » Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:26 am

It seems that the blocking of applications is simcard specific. We use here anything over any phone. Nothing is blocked.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Post Reply

Return to “Internet and Computer Help”