"Career" Advice: Structures

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

corsair
Rank 0
Rank 0

"Career" Advice: Structures

Post by corsair »

Hello All. I am seeking some advice.

I am a Canadian teacher who retired last June. I am presently living in Malaysia. Retirement is not sitting well with me. Thus, I am
thinking about returning to Canada, and attempting to re-enter the aviation industry as a structures technician.

Some background:

I completed the so-called structures program at North Island College in Campbell River, BC. in 2001. At the time, the program was unable
to obtain Transport Canada certification. I was unable to obtain work, and thus, returned to my original profession: teaching. I ended up
working overseas from 2004-2018. Now that I am ready to "come home", I am thinking about retraining as structures technician.

Now, here's the catch: I am now 66 years of age :shock: Regardless, I have lots of energy and enthusiasm. I love being around aircraft.
I simply have too much energy to retire. I know that older workers (60+) are much more common now than 30 years ago. When I was working
as a carpenter, my boss was 80! Just read of a guy who became an engineer at 67. That said, I know that age discrimination is illegal in
Canada, but it's impossible to know what is in an employer's head when he sees an older worker's application.

Incidentally, I also hold a private pilot license.

Thoughts anyone? Feel free to comment on this site, or send an email to cessnaflyer2@hotmail.com.

Gary
---------- ADS -----------

Pacqing
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: "Career" Advice: Structures

Post by Pacqing »