TBO guidlines

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

3wannabies
Rank 0
Rank 0

TBO guidlines

Post by 3wannabies »

Hi Everyone, I am new to the airplane buying world. Ironic since I have been a flight attendant for over 30 years!!
I am in the process of buying a 172 for my son's pilot training for him to build hours faster.
I have a 1965 172 with 2600 hrs on the engine and the current owner says that as long as the engine run well it's fine. I was under the impression that TBO on a 172 was 2000 hrs. Is that a red flag?? Or is that only for flight school and commercial operation. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
If this is not the right place to post these questions, let me know
---------- ADS -----------

PilotDAR
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: TBO guidlines

Post by PilotDAR »

'Right place for the question....

Generally, I agree with what you've been told, if it's running well, keep running it. That said, running well is more than it starts and you can fly it. good compressions, low oil consumption, good oil pressure, no metal in the oil, no leaks, and spark plugs and accessories maintained as they should be.

I had an O-200 I ran to 3600 hours, no problem. Even at overhaul, It was in great shape. Run it regularly, and maintain it. Overhaul and repair as required by condition.

Commercial registered planes are different...

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »

Commercial aircraft can operate past TBO on a per-operator case by case basis, with additional inspection actions, by agreement with Transport Canada.

DId you hear the one about the jurisprudence fetishist? He got off on a technicality.
digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by digits_ »

3wannabies wrote: Sat Oct 09, 2021 5:27 am Hi Everyone, I am new to the airplane buying world. Ironic since I have been a flight attendant for over 30 years!!