BCIT Airline and Flight Operations - Commercial Pilot

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

Kenton
Rank 0
Rank 0

BCIT Airline and Flight Operations - Commercial Pilot

Post by Kenton »

Hi there

I’m considering the BCIT Airline and Flight Operations - Commercial Pilot program? Has anyone completed it or heard any feedback on it – pros/cons?

http://www.bcit.ca/study/programs/1005dipts

Thank you.
---------- ADS -----------

icosco
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: BCIT Airline and Flight Operations - Commercial Pilot

Post by icosco »

I graduated from the BCIT program a year ago, and I would highly recommend it. I had a blast, met some amazing people, and got a job a month after our grad ceremony flying King Airs. It definitely includes some BS classes, but its pretty much 50 percent flying, 50 percent classroom stuff, most of the classroom stuff being groundschool and interesting, all classes are aviation related at least.

It is pricey, but you can go in never even having seen an airplane and come out 18 months later a commercially rated multi-IFR pilot.

If you have any questions shoot me a message, I'd be happy to help.

Last edited by icosco on Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tipsails
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by tipsails »

To be fair if I'm not mistaken part of the reason you managed to get that King Air job because you had nearly 500 hours and lots of private time flying the family aircraft, am I not correct? Just so the OP knows that's not necessarily going to be the norm for everyone. Lots of guys from the same BCIT class are hucking bags in Norman Wells right now.

BCIT is great for like icosco said, go from no FT to full CPL in a short time. It's very structured so great for those who need a schedule and one of the best programs on the west side of Canada.

icosco
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by icosco »