RMC OC looking for flight training advice.

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

aircadetblondie
Rank 0
Rank 0

RMC OC looking for flight training advice.

Post by aircadetblondie »

Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to ask, but I am a RMC Officer Cadet thinking about getting some flight training at the weekends. Would this be a good idea before I start my military flight training?

I am keen to go fighters and want to prepare myself as best I can for the selection.

Thanks (:
---------- ADS -----------

gwagen
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: RMC OC looking for flight training advice.

Post by gwagen »

Absolutely, previous flying experience is an asset that will let you advance faster than your comrades.

Some might tell you you won't be trained the way the military wants you to be. Nonsense. You can pickup the differences when you get there.

If you are at RMC in Kingston, I strongly suggest Fly Kingston. The CFI is retired airforce, very professional he will set you well on your way above your class mates.

Plus you'll have some fun on the side.

PM me for more details and contact info.

Gannet167
Rank 7
Rank 7

Post by Gannet167 »

Yes and no. Many students come to 2CFFTS with previous flying experience and they really don't stand out against their peers who have zero flying experience prior to PFT. You'd think that more time in the aircraft is advantageous, but in reality it doesn't always play out that way. If anything, it would appear the guys with 2000 hours and multi-IFR quals are some of the worst performing students.