PPL Written Exam Prep

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

shivam282
Rank 1
Rank 1

PPL Written Exam Prep

Post by shivam282 »

Hello,

I just started studying for the PPL Exam a few days ago. So far I know everything from Theory of Flight in the "General Knowledge", and about half of Flight Instruments. Right now I am using From the Ground Up to study(I just look through everything I need to know on the Transport Canada website then go by each page in the book to find that topic), I also have a copy of the 2015 AIM and 2015 CAR's and I feel at this rate it may be a very slow process to get to know everything and eventually take the exam. Does anybody know any ways to study for this faster or more efficiently? Any websites or apps that offer free practice exams or other study material? I do already know about the practice exams at my Flight school. I think I would mainly be needing help in Navigation and Air Law/ Flight Operations.

Thanks.
---------- ADS -----------

praveen4143
Rank 5
Rank 5

Re: PPL Written Exam Prep

Post by praveen4143 »

The private pilot ground school that is offered by your flight school is an important first step. It's a legal requirement and they are expected to cover all topics as referenced in the written exam guide. Look up TP12880 at https://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/ ... u-5523.htm - this is the PPL written exam guide and that will give you some insight as well.

Practice exams are available on www.aerotraining.ca for free exams but IMHO they're a little overkill. There's loads of apps and books out there too! The one by Dauntless seems nice. Just make sure you get Canadian publications/exams as there are some differences in the US and Canadian exams that are significant enough to make a difference.

geneticistx
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by geneticistx »