Exce$$ive ground briefings

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

JohnnyHotRocks
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Exce$$ive ground briefings

Post by JohnnyHotRocks »

20+ years ago when I was an instructor, if a student came prepared for his lesson and made a real effort to study up on the theory and procedures, his ground briefing would be quite short and consequently I would only charge something minimal (.2 or something to that effect).
Have things changed in the FTU world or are instructors still doing this?
I have a friend who has started working on his private who studies for each flight diligently but gets charged an hour of ground brief for every hour in the air. 20 years ago this was known as “milking a student”. Is this the new standard?
I am not pointing fingers or trying to troll anyone, I am just trying to honestly figure out if this is the new normal or should he switch instructors.
Thanks
John
---------- ADS -----------

lownslow
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Re: Exce$$ive ground briefings

Post by lownslow »

Could be a sign of a weak instructor, an unprepared student, or a greedy school.

digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by digits_ »

JohnnyHotRocks wrote: Wed May 09, 2018 6:16 pm 20+ years ago when I was an instructor, if a student came prepared for his lesson and made a real effort to study up on the theory and procedures, his ground briefing would be quite short and consequently I would only charge something minimal (.2 or something to that effect).
I have a friend who has started working on his private who studies for each flight diligently but gets charged an hour of ground brief for every hour in the air. 20 years ago this was known as “milking a student”. Is this the new standard?