Flight reviews by supervising instructors

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Flight reviews by supervising instructors

Post by photofly »

If I'm a student at a flight school, and my instructor sends me for a "supervisory" flight with the CFI, and the CFI thinks I didn't do very well - does that mean:

- that my instructor didn't teach me properly?
- that my instructor doesn't understand what the CFI considers to be good flying?

If so, do I deserve a refund for any of my training? Or free remedial training, paid for by the flight school?

If the purpose of my supervisory flight is mainly for the CFI to assess whether my instructor is doing a decent job, why am I paying for it? Shouldn't the school, or (in the modern climate of instructors as contractors) the instructor him/herself pay for it?

Who benefits from a supervisory flight? And if a supervisory flight is a sh*t-show, who's at fault, and whose responsibility is it to fix things?

Does anyone think that a CFI might have a strong incentive not to be too critical (or critical enough) of a student’s flying for fear of having to deal with some of the above issues?
---------- ADS -----------

DId you hear the one about the jurisprudence fetishist? He got off on a technicality.
Squaretail
Rank 6
Rank 6

Re: Flight reviews by supervising instructors

Post by Squaretail »

photofly wrote: Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:57 am If I'm a student at a flight school, and my instructor sends me for a "supervisory" flight with the CFI, and the CFI thinks I didn't do very well - does that mean:

- that my instructor didn't teach me properly?
- that my instructor doesn't understand what the CFI considers to be good flying?