Conventional Gear Situation

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

Laythe
Rank 1
Rank 1

Conventional Gear Situation

Post by Laythe »

Hey I wanted to hear some opinions on an idea my uncle and I were talking about.

My uncle owns a 1947 C140 which is a tail dragger, my uncle has his private license and 1200hrs on type. I am a new pilot with my CPL tests completed and Multi engine rating, I need to build 40 hours pic to finish off my CPL. So I have a few options.

My uncle is willing to show me the ropes of tail draggers and fly his plane for my time building. Because I'm time building for PIC I would be logging the time as such.

So a few questions I have are, do I need to log the time as duel for the first few flights as that shows I've been taught how to fly conventional gear, is this something my uncle is even able to do with only a PPL? If I have hours on a tail dragger for example about 10 but haven't gotten an endorsement from a flight school am i still able to fly into the United States? Do company's who like tail dragger time want to see that the training was duel with an instructor or will having 40 PIC hours in a tail dragger with no duel be a problem.

Thanks for any info.
---------- ADS -----------

ahramin
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator

Re: Conventional Gear Situation

Post by ahramin »

It is absolutely legal for your uncle to train you to fly a new type with his PPL and you can log it as dual.