Choosing plane for PPL training

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

amaksr
Rank 0
Rank 0

Choosing plane for PPL training

Post by amaksr »

Hello avcanada members!

I am new to aviation, and need an advise on following subject...

I want to buy a plane to do PPL training and then do flight exam as well. I am thinking of certified two-seater with ~100hp engine, so it burns less fuel per hour (compared to C172 in most flight schools), with metal skin, so it doesn't need hangar. There are few available for around 25k.

Now, there are few types offered for sale, but can they really be used for training and exam?
So far I researched:

Cessna C150 - seems to be the best choice, as it used in many flight schools

Grumman AA1 - this "trainer" is not allowed to spin, and spins are part of flight test exam according to TC document TP 13723. So cannot be used?

Ercoupe 415 - doesn't have rudder pedals as most usual planes do, is it a major problem?

Piper PA22 - some air mech told me that it has single brake gear between seats, therefore some flight instructors do not consider it as full dual control, and will not train on it. Not sure if it's true, seems very minor to me... Also it is a fabric plane, it needs hangar.

Luscombe, Aeronca from 194x - fabric (need hangar), no electricity (manual start), therefore I am not considering these.

Are my conclusions correct? What are the other good planes that can be used for both training and flight exams?

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

ayseven
Rank 7
Rank 7

Re: Choosing plane for PPL training

Post by ayseven »

Just speaking from experience, the handbrake on the TriPacer is SHIT.

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »