PTR Issues with Flight School

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

captainhack
Rank 1
Rank 1

PTR Issues with Flight School

Post by captainhack »

Hello all,

I am a commercial pilot student who is having troubles with the school and their records system. My school uses an electronic pilot training record and approximately half my times were not entered in my pilot training record by my instructors. The CFI said in an email that he will try to correct this. Further to that, I was told that they don't use a paper PTR so I don't have a PTR at all whatsoever for my commercial. I just have my logbook which has all the times and a description of exercises performed on that flight.

I have decided to switch schools due to personal reasons and the new school wants a paper PTR signed off by the CFI from the old school. To make matters more complicated, some of the times at the school was in a block time airplane from my friend and my instructor from that time signed me out on solos in that plane. I have asked the CFI to put those hours in the paper PTR but there is grey area in that regard. TC tells me that "it is the legal right of the owner of that aircraft to allow you to train in that plane". The CFI says "thats a CARs violation". Now this is a big mess - anyone have any suggestions or ideas on what steps I should take to protect myself in this case?

---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: PTR Issues with Flight School

Post by photofly »

captainhack wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:14 pm To make matters more complicated, some of the times at the school was in a block time airplane from my friend and my instructor from that time signed me out on solos in that plane. I have asked the CFI to put those hours in the paper PTR but there is grey area in that regard.