What is a better way to get your licenses?

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

kyleee
Rank 0
Rank 0

What is a better way to get your licenses?

Post by kyleee »

I am currently a grade 10 student in AB wishing to pursue a career as a pilot in the future. After days of reading forums about various topics, there were different approaches as to which is the better way to obtain a pilot's license.

- get a degree, enter flight school about 6-7 years
- get a degree while getting ur PPL and CPL privately/club about (hassle, the degree may be useless) 4-5 yrs
-go to an aviation college, get a diploma/degree (any suggestions which a good one is? doesn't have to be AB but I hope it's between BC, AB, ON [ i also saw BCIT, Confed, Sault, MRU, waterloo, etc but many people said their programs were trash and might as well just do it privately])) 2-4 yrs
- get a diploma (not related to aviation, back up plan- I was hoping EMT-P [paramedic]) while getting your PPL and CPL at your own pace. (apparently could finish both licenses for a year if devoted to it enough.) would take me 4 yrs

Many people said going to flight colleges is good because companies may put your paper on top of others when applying. There are also usually connections (such as Jazz) and they will guarantee you a spot in the career.
Many people also said that it's useless and is a waste of time because sometimes they don't follow their curriculum and end up taking years before you get just your PPL [Sault], and airlines don't really care about your degree. And also, usually, if you fail the first year of the program, they don't give you a refund and you will have to take the course again.