Stepping up to a anphib

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

DJH
Rank 0
Rank 0

Stepping up to a anphib

Post by DJH »

Hey I’m new to the site but looking for advice on a amphibian plane. I would like to be able to fly my wife and kids to our cabin in northern Ontario. I’m a new pilot with 150hrs. What would a good step be? I was thinking a 185 anphib but concerned I would be to re restricted with weight?? Am I crazy to consider a 206 with the little experience I have? Or what would another good option of a anphib be? I have zero time on floats but planning tk get the endorsement this summer.
---------- ADS -----------

TWSC
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: Stepping up to a anphib

Post by TWSC »

Amphib 206 is a death trap

matt foley
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by matt foley »

"Death trap" is a bit harsh. Now if you are referring to a back row passengers chance of self evacuation after the a/c flips over on the water during takeoff or landing with the flaps down then yes, I agree. Ugly! There are models of 206 with two front doors which makes life on floats much more pleasant but that's for you to research.
From a C185 or C206 perspective you'll have to provide more info if you want an informed opinion. Specifics to consider:
-Payload
-Pax number(Both "can" hold 6, neither will nor should on Amphibs)
-Lake conditions ie length, density altitude, clearway etc.
-Comfort level for PAX(206=wider/roomier, cargo doors etc)

I will throw my very vague opinion on the two. I have owned one but operated both enough to have formulated a view.
185 will provide more flying pleasure and likely keep you from getting into trouble more as its power to weight ratio is better(assuming both running the same 520 either IO or TCIO) and less airframe to drag around.