What questions to ask and be cautious of when buying an aircraft?

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

wannaflymore
Rank 1
Rank 1

What questions to ask and be cautious of when buying an aircraft?

Post by wannaflymore »

Hi Everyone.
Not sure where I should post this but I assume you guys can answer my questions anyway...
As I already explained here, I'm looking to buy my own aircraft to do my private licence and I have found a 1967 C172 I'm interested in.
It has 496.4 TSMOH and 2591 TTSN.
Being a newbie, my aviation culture is still very limited and I am not sure yet about the questions I should ask even before the first move for seeing the aircraft. I do have a few questions in mind but I'm sure there are a lot more that would be even more relevant.

- What are the essential questions to ask on the first contact with the owner before making the decision to see the aircraft?
- Once in front of the aircraft, what do I need to absolutely check? what can be easily hidden? Any clues, evidence, symptoms that will help me figure out any issues on the aircraft?
- Besides the Registration, CofA, journey Log Book, POH, Engine and Propeller docs, are there any other docs that should be provided?
- Has any of you been scammed and how, while buying an aircraft?
- Is it ok to ask who did the maintenance and get information from that person?
- I will do a check flight with a pilot friend of mine... what should we be cautious of while flying? What should be a red flag or immediate no-go?
- Basically, how does the process go when you buy an aircraft

I'm sure I could ask a zillion questions but those are the first one I have for you and I hope I don't sound too ignorant or naive.
Thanks a lot for your help!!
---------- ADS -----------

CpnCrunch
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: What questions to ask and be cautious of when buying an aircraft?