Glider License

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

sdogg0
Rank 2
Rank 2

Glider License

Post by sdogg0 »

I am a fixed wing PPL student and am running out of cash this summer, I still want to fly and was wondering about obtaining by gliders license. I live near the KW area and was wondering if anyone is a member or has flown at the glider club near Elmira. Also what are the min. requirements for license. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you
---------- ADS -----------

nightbird
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: Glider License

Post by nightbird »

http://www.tc.gc.ca/CivilAviation/Regse ... htm#421_24
DIVISION V - PILOT LICENCE
421.24 Gliders - Requirements

(1) Age

An applicant shall be a minimum of sixteen years of age.

(2) Medical Fitness
(amended 2007/12/30; previous version)

(a) An applicant shall hold a Category 4 Medical Certificate valid for a pilot licence - glider.

(b) An applicant who meets the medical conditions specified on and signs the Civil Aviation Medical Declaration shall be deemed to have met the Category 4 Medical Standards.

(c) The licence is maintained by a valid Category 1, 3 or 4 Medical Certificate.
(amended 2007/12/30; previous version)

(3) Knowledge

An applicant shall have:

(a) completed a minimum of 15 hours of glider pilot ground school instruction on the following subjects:

(i) Canadian Aviation Regulations,

(ii) Aerodynamics and Theory of flight,

(iii) Meteorology,

(iv) Airframes and Systems,

(v) Flight Instruments,

(vi) Navigation,

(vii) Flight Operations,

(viii) Emergency Procedures, and

(ix) Human factors including pilot decision-making, and

(b) obtained a minimum of 60% in the written examination Pilot Licence - Glider (GLIDE).

(4) Experience