Instructor Fell Asleep

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

theoscarpaco
Rank 0
Rank 0

Instructor Fell Asleep

Post by theoscarpaco »

I'm very new to flight training, about 6 hours in. Today on our way out to the practice area my instructor fell asleep. I asked if we should call it a day because he was sleeping but he brushed it off immediately and started the lesson. Later on in the flight he was dozing off for a second time.

Is this something I should be concerned about for the future or should I brush it off as a "everybody has an off day" kind of thing? Because I work, most of my flights are in the evenings so I'm his last flight of the day. Since I'm so new to aviation I don't know how common this is in training, but I can imagine it's not something you're looking for in an instructor.

Any advice or input would be appreciated.
---------- ADS -----------

200hr Wonder
Rank 10
Rank 10

Re: Instructor Fell Asleep

Post by 200hr Wonder »

There is no way your instructor should be falling asleep. I would tell his CFI, demand my money back for the flight, at very least the instructor portion of it as he was not instructing. You are paying him good money to instruct, not sleep. Give him a second chance and if he does it again, never fly with him again. He is there to teach you how can he do it if he is not paying attention? He also there for lookout, which is a skill that you are not 100% proficient with. As well as the many other things that you are just learning. This is not acceptable. This is not safe.

Cheers,

200hr Wonder
DeltaHotel
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by DeltaHotel »

Yes you should be concerned. Especially with only six hours in under your belt. Your instructor is there to teach but also to prevent a possible situation from degenerating.

This is not an instructor that has your back.