Does the ERJ use an ozone catalyst?

Discuss topics relating to Air Canada.

Moderators: North Shore, ahramin, sky's the limit, Sulako

Post Reply
asdfasd
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:50 pm

Does the ERJ use an ozone catalyst?

Post by asdfasd »

does the ERJ use an ozone catalyst?
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
tripleseven
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 9:56 am

Post by tripleseven »

For what?
---------- ADS -----------
  

asdfasd
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:50 pm

Post by asdfasd »

http://www.aerodev.co.uk/ozone.html

To conserve fuel whenever practicable, and to limit cost increases resulting from world-wide increases in oil prices, passenger aircraft are now flying at higher altitudes than previously. This frequently takes them into the ozone-containing layer of the atmosphere, and when this is drawn into aircraft by air conditioning systems it may cause physical discomfort and irritation to aircrews and passengers. Catalytic decomposition, using a metal supported platinum catalyst, provides an economic practical solution in this problem by reducing to an acceptable level the amount of ozone entering the aircraft cabins.
---------- ADS -----------
  

prop2jet
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:50 am

Post by prop2jet »

I would have to assume they are equipped with "scrubbers" cause if they were not, they would not be able to fly for any length of time at an efficient altitude. They have some pretty long flights with the 190.
---------- ADS -----------
  

. .
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2670
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 12:53 am

Post by . . »

what's are some of the longest sectors the 190 does now? Are there any long sectors the erj fleet will be taking over from the 320 family?
---------- ADS -----------
  

prop2jet
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 11:50 am

Post by prop2jet »

YYZ-YYJ and I think if not now they definately were doing YYZ-SEA
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Jaques Strappe
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1847
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: YYZ

Post by Jaques Strappe »

The Embraer is a "cheap" airplane in every sense. I doubt very much, for the price, it is equipped with an ozone catalyst.
---------- ADS -----------
  
Standby for new atis message

Maxxed out
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:44 pm

Post by Maxxed out »

If the ERJ doesn't have ozone scrubbers it would be altitude restricted like the CRJ is. I don't believe they are altitude restricted.
---------- ADS -----------
  

drjet320
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: cyyz
Contact:

ERJ Ozone Converters

Post by drjet320 »

The E190 has two "Ozone Converters", one each located inboard of it's respective bleed source or engine.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Snowgoose
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:04 pm
Location: Duty Free Shop

Post by Snowgoose »

Years and years ago when the built the Concorde they were worried about ozone, as it is an irritant. The thing is that when ozone goes through the bleed system, heat converts it back to plain oxygen. So I sincerely doubt that the ERJ or any airplane for that matter has a system to deal with ozone.
---------- ADS -----------
  
It's better to break ground and head into the wind than to break wind and head into the ground.

yycflyguy
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2732
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 9:18 am

Post by yycflyguy »

Snowgoose wrote:Years and years ago when the built the Concorde they were worried about ozone, as it is an irritant. The thing is that when ozone goes through the bleed system, heat converts it back to plain oxygen. So I sincerely doubt that the ERJ or any airplane for that matter has a system to deal with ozone.
So what happens to the extra oxygen atom that was stripped off the ozone?
The E190 has two "Ozone Converters", one each located inboard of it's respective bleed source or engine.
Doesn't show on any of the system schematics.
---------- ADS -----------
  

drjet320
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 5:04 pm
Location: cyyz
Contact:

Ozone Converters

Post by drjet320 »

Look in Chapter 36.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Snowgoose
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:04 pm
Location: Duty Free Shop

Post by Snowgoose »

yycflyguy wrote:
Snowgoose wrote:Years and years ago when the built the Concorde they were worried about ozone, as it is an irritant. The thing is that when ozone goes through the bleed system, heat converts it back to plain oxygen. So I sincerely doubt that the ERJ or any airplane for that matter has a system to deal with ozone.
So what happens to the extra oxygen atom that was stripped off the ozone?
The E190 has two "Ozone Converters", one each located inboard of it's respective bleed source or engine.
Doesn't show on any of the system schematics.
2 x O3 + heat -> 3 x O2

In the atmosphere IIRC UV light splits Ozone into O2 and O-. The O- rapidly reacts with O2 again to form Ozone (O3).
---------- ADS -----------
  
It's better to break ground and head into the wind than to break wind and head into the ground.

User avatar
Snowgoose
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:04 pm
Location: Duty Free Shop

Re: Ozone Converters

Post by Snowgoose »

drjet320 wrote:Look in Chapter 36.
Thanks for the PM about the system. I don't have the books (yet!)
---------- ADS -----------
  
It's better to break ground and head into the wind than to break wind and head into the ground.

User avatar
Jaques Strappe
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1847
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: YYZ

Re: Ozone Converters

Post by Jaques Strappe »

drjet320 wrote:Look in Chapter 36.
Do you have a reference? I don't see anything on any Schematic or dialogue.
---------- ADS -----------
  
Standby for new atis message

Post Reply

Return to “Air Canada”