Discuss topics relating to airlines.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

Airbusa3
Rank 0
Rank 0

Future of Canada's Airline Industry

Post by Airbusa3 »

Hey Guys!

Well, im a third year university student in Toronto whos always wanted to become a commercial pilot. Im just in a sort of a dilemma about if I should pursue a career in aviation or go onto banking. I just want to ask people who are currently in the industry or have extensive knowledge about it that where do you see the industry in 10 to 15 years from now in terms of employment opps, wawcon, etc

Thanks!
---------- ADS -----------

plausiblyannonymous
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: Future of Canada's Airline Industry

Post by plausiblyannonymous »

You need to ask yourself a serious set of questions.

Do you want to make money?
Do you want to have a family?
Do you want to have a social life?
Do you want to be able to make your own choices?

If you have answered yes to any of these, you should consider banking.

The aviation industry is booming right now, but the first thing that people stop spending on when money gets tight is travel.

goingnowherefast
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by goingnowherefast »

The last 25 years of pilot contracts have been concessions or status quo. Even during the current economic growth and unprecedented pilot demand, there haven't been any appreciable gains.

The next recession will likely lead to more massive concessions, pay cuts, higher workload, and make the job even less appealing than it already is.

Duke Point
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by Duke Point »

Last edited by Duke Point on Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DirtyDashDriver
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by DirtyDashDriver »

You are asking a length of time so far ahead that precedence says you can't possibly know where the industry will be.