Non Aviation Employers Don't Respect Pilot Experience

Discuss topics relating to airlines.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

Ash Ketchum
Rank 5
Rank 5

Non Aviation Employers Don't Respect Pilot Experience

Post by Ash Ketchum »

As a laid off airline pilot I have spent the past 4 months trying to switch back to another industry I had worked in 5 years ago before becoming a pilot. After countless final round interviews I have had no luck. Even though I have a university degree in the field and 2 years prior work experience, most employers want recent experience and in todays job market that's not hard to find.

It seems that no one appreciates my flying experience and HR in non aviation industries cant see how the leadership, critical thinking, customer service and teamwork skills we develop as pilots translate.

I am at the point where I have given up my job search and am planning to go back to school or start a business unless my airline recalls me in the next few months (doubt it but who knows)...

Anyone else struggling to find employment outside of aviation?
---------- ADS -----------

Panama Jack
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: Non Aviation Employers Don't Respect Pilot Experience

Post by Panama Jack »

Part of the problem, Ash, is that employers probably getting more relavently qualified people who do have that recent experience, and then some. Or they can't relate to how flying an airplane fits to their specific line. It isn't just airline pilots out of work. I know, it's depressing. But I am old enough to remember aviation in the 80's and 90's where I saw an ad for a Twin Otter Captain where they asked for a minimum of 10,000 hours TT. Another recruiter didn't want to hire a pilot who had been out of the game for about 15 years. It's the joys of life in the free economy.

“If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. If it stops moving, subsidize it.”
-President Ronald Reagan
fsantana
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by fsantana »