Part 135 Checkride

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Chaxterium
Rank 7
Rank 7

Part 135 Checkride

Post by Chaxterium »

Hello,

I'm a Canadian pilot but next week I'll be doing an FAA Part 135 ride on a Falcon 900 (what an amazing aircraft btw!). I understand that the FAA tends to take the oral quite a bit more seriously than TC does so I was wondering if anyone out there that has done many 135 rides has any of idea of what they typically like to ask. I'm more concerned with regulatory questions. Are there any major differences in the way the Yanks do things that a regular Canuck driver might not realize?

Thanks to anyone who can offer some advice.

Cheers,
Chax
---------- ADS -----------

Nark
Rank 10
Rank 10

Re: Part 135 Checkride

Post by Nark »

I've done a few.

Other than typical systems knowledge stuff, a good start would be the difference for the ATPL conversion exam.

Qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum
Semper Fidelis
“De inimico non loquaris male, sed cogites"-
Do not wish death for your enemy, plan it.
co-joe
Rank 11
Rank 11

Post by co-joe »

I did one, but just the sim portion as PNF. There was a few things different like the RVR 600 departure with the Cat 2 hold short line being farther from the threshold, where they kind of try to set you up for an incursion I think they might have set us up for a take off below limit to test knowledge and then raised the wx a bit when we declined departure based on wx. They did the simulated dead PNF single pilot thing for one approach. Pretty straight forward stuff otherwise. Circling approach was a bit hoakey where you can't really see the threshold once you pass it cause the sim didn't have side windows, so you have to estimate the turn to base. They had some 45 degree 45 second thing that seemed to work OK.

Roar
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by Roar »