GIANT logbook mistakes!!!

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

TheDopplerEffect
Rank 0
Rank 0

GIANT logbook mistakes!!!

Post by TheDopplerEffect »

So since I have started my training I've understood/misunderstood that in order to log x-country time, your net distance traveled must be over 50nm... I have recently learned that in order to log x-country time you must travel further then 50nm from you point of departure. Now I'm kinda having a conniption over hear because I'm a 200 hour pilot and 65% of my flights have bean to a aerodrome 40nm away. How do I fix this, am I going to jail, will I be broke after this blows over, will I need Vaseline???

Also can I wright down the time I spend sightseeing on my way and at an aerodrome as x-country time?

My Idea of salving all my problems is to re do a book and transfer them over, I would like to spend some money on a real good pilot log anyway, but what am I required to do legally?

In the future how am i suppose to fix mistake that I didn't catch when i was writing them down?

Thanks for the help!
---------- ADS -----------

Docbrad
Rank 2
Rank 2

Re: GIANT logbook mistakes!!!

Post by Docbrad »

Look up the CARs definition of xcty time.

You'll soon realize that there isn't one. It's all up to interpretation. There is no minimum distance.

My stance has been that you can log xcty if you can actually put a route in your logbook. If you are just going to the practice area, no. But if you are navigating somewhere (another airport, or to a waypoint for diversion practice) then it is logged.

I did a quick Google of this and other forums and nearly ever user had a different definition (read: opinion) of what is and what is not xcty time. I'm nearly certain that anyone else that replies here will also have a different response haha.

Good luck!

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »