how do kids afford this racket???

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

spool up time
Rank 0
Rank 0

how do kids afford this racket???

Post by spool up time »

It's been years since I went through flight training and from my seat on a 737 I am so out of touch with what the kids are doing these days...

i was posed this question by an Air Cadet in my squadron.

" I'm currently a grade 12 student and am looking into becoming a pilot. I have done many researches and called many universities about the pilot programs that they offer. The problem that I have run into is that, the flying part of the program is not covered under OSAP. Not only that but I can't even get a bank loan, because I don't have a strong cosigner, and I do not wish to work 2 years full time to build a line of credit. So if you could help me find some tricks or show me a pathway I can take towards my dream, that would mean the world to me. "

with the recent conditions in our industry, I can't help but think there has to be a way for someone in this individuals shoes to be able to get funding.

thanks all in advance for help in answering this question
---------- ADS -----------

Bradley Tucker
Rank 2
Rank 2

Re: how do kids afford this racket???

Post by Bradley Tucker »

Pm me

AOW
Rank 6
Rank 6

Post by AOW »

While the university programs don't include flight training in their tuition, Confederation College and Sault College do. OSAP would be an option there.
Seneca College's degree program includes the flight training in the tuition too, I believe, but the tuition costs are much higher than the two other colleges, and I am not sure whether OSAP will cover this.

Good luck.

lostaviator
Rank 6
Rank 6

Post by lostaviator »