What requirements?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

laminar
Rank 1
Rank 1

What requirements?

Post by laminar »

The background:

I am a low time pilot looking to have my commercial licence in the next year. I am also in law enforcement in a city that does not currently have an air unit. I am looking at potentially purchasing a C172 from a friend. What I am also interested in proposing to my employer is the use of this aircraft for police related flights. I have another coworker who has a CPL so there could potentially be two pilots available for this aircraft in the next year. The work related flights would be tracking targets of interest from the air (stolen autos that run from police, drug traffickers, look for missing persons, etc).

Is there anyone on here who could guide me to which sections of the CARs would be applicable to this, which type of insurance would be required, maintenance schedules for the aircraft, etc. I'm assuming the aircraft may need to be commercially registered? Is it something that could be used for my personal use as well as on a contract basis for work?

It wouldn't be a venture to make myself rich, but rather cover some costs, put dirt bags in jail, and make the streets safer for my community and coworkers.
---------- ADS -----------

GreenBastrd
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: What requirements?

Post by GreenBastrd »

I think if you can get an STC to mount a pair of 50 cal's under each wing of your 172 you're going to make your proposition that much more appealing.

all_ramped_up
Rank 6
Rank 6

Post by all_ramped_up »

Just a quick guess to me it sounds like it'd fall under 702 Ops for Aerial Work.

CpnCrunch
Rank 11
Rank 11

Post by CpnCrunch »