Canadian living in the U.S. getting the boot...

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

chickn_wings
Rank 0
Rank 0

Canadian living in the U.S. getting the boot...

Post by chickn_wings »

I’m a Canadian citizen living in the United states for 19 years under TPS (Temporary Protected Status), earlier this year the Trump administration decided to end that program. That action has gotten some pushback and its under review in court but if that action stays I have to leave the country by September 2019. I got my associates degree and did all my flight training in the U.S. and I am now getting my flight hours doing aerial surveying. I have talked to some regional airlines here and it seems like even if TPS stays I won’t be able to be hired since my visa is “temporary”. I don’t know what to do, the easiest thing for me to do is go back to Canada and convert my licenses but I’ve heard pilots in Canada would kill to be able to work in the U.S. Another option would be to forget about the airlines and become a corporate pilot instead. How bad would it be for me to just go the easy way and go to Canada? Would it be easy for me to be hired at a regional with 1500 hours? Any advice is appreciated…
---------- ADS -----------

complexintentions
Rank 10
Rank 10

Re: Canadian living in the U.S. getting the boot...

Post by complexintentions »