Back-Up Career

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

sherryfly
Rank 1
Rank 1

Back-Up Career

Post by sherryfly »

Hello,

I am a student who will be attending college in September to study Aviation, and become a pilot.To fly professionally pilots must maintain a Class 1 Medical. I am somewhat afraid that if I have a serious health issue I will lose my medical, and therefore want to ensure that I have a back-up career. I have two options. I can study to be a AME, which would require 9 months of post-secondary education in addition to my aviation diploma or otherwise I can do a 9 month course in the trades (HVAC, electrician etc). I was wondering if anyone here can provide me with advice on what pilots can do in the event that they lose their medical. Further, I would like to know how common it is for this to happen. This is my first post, I do apologize if I have posted incorrectly

Thanks for your time
---------- ADS -----------

leftoftrack
Rank 8
Rank 8

Re: Back-Up Career

Post by leftoftrack »

there's insur for that

nine sixteenths
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by nine sixteenths »

Be aware that schooling alone does not give you the trade. What school offers a 9 month AME program? Most that I know of are 2 years. Then apprentiship and logbook/task completions, then an exam, then the license, takes about 4 years total... then, like a pilot, you are required to maintain your currency, albeit in a slightly indifferent manner. Same with trade schools, you do you schooling then you get your hours and apprentiship done, then after all four years (typical) you are a journeyman whatever.

Why not focus on being a good pilot, and worry about an injury or illness if it happens, plan to take a new career path then.

digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by digits_ »

leftoftrack wrote: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:10 pm there's insur for that