Westjet Mainline FO ad.

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Negativefeather
Rank 0
Rank 0

Westjet Mainline FO ad.

Post by Negativefeather »

Out of curiosity... New hires OTS for this position, will you be jumped in seniority be every encore pilot flowing over?(assuming they're encore pilots ahead of your start date). Disclaimer I have little to zero knowledge of this whole one list discussion. If so theoretically you could be at the bottom of FO list for years and years?
---------- ADS -----------

'97 Tercel
Rank 8
Rank 8

Re: Westjet Mainline FO ad.

Post by '97 Tercel »

Duukar
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by Duukar »

This is of interest to me as well. There was a time when an invite to interview with West Jet would have made me jump for joy. Now it has sat in my inbox for a week to finally be deleted and then replace with a second invite.

I have scoured the West Jet and Encore forum pages for the answer. All I can deduce from my search is that no one knows and things are entirely up in the air.

The worst possible outcome for an OTS hire would be to sit at the bottom of the list while pilot after pilot flows in ahead of you. Obviously Encore management wants the "one list" so badly you can almost taste it. How else can they continue to pay the way they pay and schedule the way they schedule. The pilots want it as well, but they will have to pay dearly for it in upcoming negotiations.

Until there are some solid answers with regard to EXACTLY what happens for an OTS hire to mainline anyone who takes this job might need a CAT scan.

JBI
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by JBI »

Exact specifics are up in the air, but generally speaking, yes, any new WJ OTS mainline FO will get jumped in seniority by Encore pilots.