P-3 or CP-140?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

linecrew
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1756
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 6:53 am
Location: On final so get off the damn runway!

Re: P-3 or CP-140?

Post by linecrew » Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:37 am

CH124 Driver wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:36 pm
CT156 Harvard II was entered as TEX2...
This made me chuckle. Shouldn't it be PC9? Just kidding...just kidding....
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
CH124 Driver
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 12:01 pm
Location: 12 Wing

Re: P-3 or CP-140?

Post by CH124 Driver » Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:01 pm

linecrew wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:37 am
CH124 Driver wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:36 pm
CT156 Harvard II was entered as TEX2...
This made me chuckle. Shouldn't it be PC9? Just kidding...just kidding....
If it were a PC9, yes. But it’s not. They’re different with different designators.

https://www.icao.int/publications/DOC86 ... earch.aspx
---------- ADS -----------
  

linecrew
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1756
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 6:53 am
Location: On final so get off the damn runway!

Re: P-3 or CP-140?

Post by linecrew » Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:33 am

CH124 Driver wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:01 pm
linecrew wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:37 am
CH124 Driver wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:36 pm
CT156 Harvard II was entered as TEX2...
This made me chuckle. Shouldn't it be PC9? Just kidding...just kidding....
If it were a PC9, yes. But it’s not. They’re different with different designators.

https://www.icao.int/publications/DOC86 ... earch.aspx
True in a sense but it' not always the case. An example is the Russian built Lisunov Li-2, a copy of the DC-3 where no parts are compatible due to the fact that they are all measured in metric, but shares the same ICAO designator of DC-3. The Beech Mk. II (aka Texan II/Harvard II) is essentially a Pilatus PC-9 but has it's own designator.
---------- ADS -----------
  

mtruchon
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:31 pm

Re: P-3 or CP-140?

Post by mtruchon » Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:51 am

I used to be a tech on the aurora and I have flown many time with the aircraft in the us, Canada and internationally. I can’t remember them using the p3 designator in Canada but I heard them use it many times outside Canada. They would use it with their CANFORCE callsign.

Basically, the first aurora was a p3 airframe with the s2 Vikings avionics suite but with the latest bloc II and III avionics, it’s a totally different animal today that has nothing to do with the original.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Post Reply

Return to “General Comments”