Offering Flights with a PPL

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

MisterWolf
Rank 0
Rank 0

Offering Flights with a PPL

Post by MisterWolf »

Hello AVcan users, I'm a long time user but first time poster to this forum. I have a questions I'm looking for some clarification on, hoping this is the right place for it.

I'm a private pilot working towards my CPL and am currently in the time building phase, I'm wondering if it would be legal for me to put an ad on Kijiji offering flights for sightseeing, while only charging for the cost of fuel, insurance and maintenance of course.

I haven't been able to find a direct answer in the CAR's or maybe I missed it, those I've asked have been split in their answers but from what I understand from my CPL study it would be allowed as long as there was no profit involved, but I need to be completely positive before doing this.

I appreciate everyone's input and time. Thanks!
---------- ADS -----------

Rowdy
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Offering Flights with a PPL

Post by Rowdy »

Transport has a habit of watching craigslist and Kijiji for just such things...

If I were you, I wouldn't be doing that at all. Taking up some friends and splitting the cost? Sure.. advertising flight seeing? Nope.

Capt. Underpants
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Capt. Underpants »

I agree with Rowdy, tread very carefully. As you would be using it to build time, TC would take the view that you are receiving a "benefit" from your advertised service. The other side of it is insurance. By advertising a service, it could be argued that you would require insurance as if it were a business venture.

final28
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by final28 »

Straight from the CARs:

Part IV — Personnel Licensing and Training (continued)
Subpart 1 — Flight Crew Permits, Licences and Ratings (continued)
Division VI — Private Pilot Licence (continued)