Wanting to pursue career as a Bush pilot, looking for advice

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

PNW47
Rank 0
Rank 0

Wanting to pursue career as a Bush pilot, looking for advice

Post by PNW47 »

I'm in my mid 20's, and looking for a career change. I graduated university a few years ago, and realized pretty quickly that the cubicle life isn't for me; I've always toyed with the idea of getting my pilots license, but now I'm serious about it. I have zero experience flying, and no certificates or licenses. The idea of working for a commercial airline doesn't interest me--I want to work in the bush flying floats.

Through some research I found that there are some schools in Canada that offer a PPL & CPL entirely on floats (Harv's air, for example), and I'm leaning towards this rout, instead of other traditional schools that offer PPL & CPL on land planes. I have a few questions about the industry, schools, and being a bush pilot, that I was hoping I could get some answers to. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1.) How employable does a CPL entirely on floats (100h PIC, 200h total), make me? Should I expect to land a flying gig as my first job, or will I likely have to work my way up from ground crew (not that this is an issue)?

2.) Is 100hours PIC on floats looked upon favourably by employers?

3.) Any recommendations for flight schools to get CPL on floats? So far I've only heard of Air Hart, Glacier Air, Island coastal Aviation. I live in BC but am willing to relocate elsewhere in Canada.

4.) Was there a Bush pilot shortage in Canada before Covid hit? Or how was the job market, and industry doing more generally?

5.) Am I better off getting a traditional CPL on a land plane and then adding a 50hour bush course? How beneficial is having my CPL entirely on floats?