Flying to YUL

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

ShawnR
Rank 3
Rank 3

Flying to YUL

Post by ShawnR »

I sold my Warrior and part of the deal is that I fly it to Montreal, YUL in particular but other options have been discussed. I am wondering if this is a good idea or not. The buyer pointed out that air traffic is very low right now. That would be beneficial, but I have limited experience with large airports. YQT and Hamilton would be the only ones with towers. Most have been North Western Ontario so uncontrolled. The couple times I passed through Toronto airspace, it was fairly quiet, I think, so I got lucky. The controllers I did talk to were great.

Anybody do general aviation into Trudeau Airport? The buyer said maybe Les Cedres and then someone could accompany into Trudeau.
Will I have any language issues being non French? I know theoretically, absolutely not, but realistically.....?

Any pointers or advice?

Thanks
Shawn
---------- ADS -----------

Last edited by ShawnR on Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Flying to YUL

Post by digits_ »

It's just an airport. No issues if you don't speak French.

As an AvCanada discussion grows longer:
-the probability of 'entitlement' being mentioned, approaches 1
-one will be accused of using bad airmanship
TurkeyFarmYQX
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by TurkeyFarmYQX »

If you've flown into Hamilton then you can handle Montreal. English is totally fine.

Eric Janson
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by Eric Janson »

Just let the controllers know when you first talk to them that you are unfamiliar with the airport and area. That way you won't be cleared to any obscure locations that you are not familiar with.

You could also call ahead and ask what the best time to arrive is - that way you avoid ending up in the middle of an arrival peak.