"Gathering of the Classics" at Edenvale Airport, August 7

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

avcanada
Rank Admin
Rank Admin

"Gathering of the Classics" at Edenvale Airport, August 7

Post by avcanada »

Hello,

As a fellow pilot, I'd like to invite you back to the "Gathering of the Classics" at Edenvale Airport, August 07 (rain date Aug. 08), this year.

There will be an air conditioned Hospitality Room, free coffee and snacks at the Registration tent, and Free Lunch for visiting pilots in the renowned new "Fud" restaurant in the terminal. Plus trophies for Best Airplane in Show - Pilot's Choice, Best Airplane in Show - Audience's Choice and Best Automobile in Show - Audience's Choice.

We've made some changes to make your participation simpler and more enjoyable. First, there's a new Arrival Procedure (attached pdf). It's very simple; nothing more than arranging your route to start over a nearby village, then follow in-trail to the airport for a completely normal overhead-the-field circuit entry. This should help in the spacing-out of traffic in the simplest way possible.

Plus the new 4000 ft runway 13-31 has been linked-up with runway 08-26, so the landing traffic flow will be greatly simplified (see attached pdf). Also, a new grass surface has been worked-up beside runway 31, so the ECAF Tiger Moth will be flying the same circuit as everyone else.

It's the largest Fly-in of Classic and Vintage aircraft in Ontario, plus we've arranged for the CWH B-25 Mitchell to attend, plus the VWoC Curtiss P-40 Kittyhawk fighter (which has dual-controls, by the way) and DH 83 Fox Moth (which was owned by HRH King Edward in the '30s), and Harvards from the CHAA. All these aircraft (including the fighter!) are available for shared flights. Plus of course dozens of interesting Classic private aircraft.