Time on AvCanada is messed up.

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Post Reply
User avatar
jpilot77
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: North of YMX

Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by jpilot77 » Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:00 pm

The times are messed up again on the message boards. I have mine set to UTC-5 (eastern standard time) yet it is showing 5 hours in advance. Also when you set it to Zulu time the error persists (it doesn't show the proper Zulu time).

Anybody else having this problem?
---------- ADS -----------
  
Welcome to Redneck Airlines. We might not get you there but we'll get you close!

User avatar
Adam Oke
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:30 am
Location: London, Ontario

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by Adam Oke » Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:34 pm

Yup. I think this is typically due to hosting server error.
---------- ADS -----------
  
--Air to Ground Chemical Transfer Technician turned 3 Bar Switch Flicker and Flap Operator--

GyvAir
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:09 pm

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by GyvAir » Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:10 pm

I've been noticing it fluctuating from one day to the next all over the clock from -2 to +5 ever since the switch to the new server.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Gorgons
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:47 pm

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by Gorgons » Sat Dec 28, 2013 9:20 pm

Oh man... the secret is finally out, the server is located on the space station!
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
avcanada
Rank Admin
Rank Admin
Posts: 12418
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 5:22 pm
Location: Calgary AB, USA, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by avcanada » Sat Dec 28, 2013 10:16 pm

Test
---------- ADS -----------
  

DanWEC
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1621
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: 404

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by DanWEC » Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:24 pm

I see the above post an hour ago as at 1:16am. It's currently 2023 here, EST.

Edit- Time for this post showing up as 2:24am, Sunday.
---------- ADS -----------
  

GyvAir
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1793
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:09 pm

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by GyvAir » Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:56 pm

Gorgons wrote:Oh man... the secret is finally out, the server is located on the space station!
Oh man! And all this time I was worryied that it was located in the white, windowless flower delivery van that's always parked on the street a couple houses down..
---------- ADS -----------
  

black hole
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Ontario
Contact:

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by black hole » Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:28 am

I don't understand all the buzz. I was happy with yesterday, today and tomorrow!!??

BH
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Colonel Sanders
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 7512
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:17 pm
Location: Over Macho Grande

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by Colonel Sanders » Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:45 pm

It's actually quite tricky to synchronize multiple
machines (GPS is wonderful) but you still have
to worry about crossing time zones and the IDL
and the discontinuity and repetition arising from
the change to daylight savings time and back again.

I have had good results with storing GMT internally
and applying TZ/daylight offsets for user display.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Edo
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 574
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 8:39 pm

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by Edo » Mon Dec 30, 2013 11:56 pm

The server time is correct, its just taken the daily average of the time you waste on here multiplied it by 3.14159265359 divided it by the total number of useful posts you have ever made and expressed it in 24hr format.

Mine seems to be slightly more accurate that my Breitling.
---------- ADS -----------
  

leftoftrack
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:10 pm

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by leftoftrack » Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:56 am

Edo wrote:The server time is correct, its just taken the daily average of the time you waste on here multiplied it by 3.14159265359 divided it by the total number of useful posts you have ever made and expressed it in 24hr format.

Mine seems to be slightly more accurate that my Breitling.
That you bought in Tijuana for $9
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
jpilot77
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: North of YMX

Re: Time on AvCanada is messed up.

Post by jpilot77 » Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:25 pm

A simple solution to get the correct time for me was to set it to Aleutian time GMT +10, this gives me the correct time for eastern standard time.
---------- ADS -----------
  
Welcome to Redneck Airlines. We might not get you there but we'll get you close!

Post Reply

Return to “General Comments”