Is it realistic to be a PT flight instructor

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

duele

Is it realistic to be a PT flight instructor

Post by duele »

Is it realistic to become a part-time flight instructor while working a regular 9-5 type job? I wouldn't be trying to move on to any other type of flying job, but am just interested in getting the rating and teaching in the early mornings, evenings, or weekends. Is anyone currently doing this or know of anyone doing this? Is it realistic or easier said than done? I'm a private pilot but think I'd enjoy teaching one day, as it would provide a little more purpose to my hobby and could make it more affordable as well.

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

Skymark
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Is it realistic to be a PT flight instructor

Post by Skymark »

I just started PT instructing. It's very realistic and a fun gig! I'd say the only real issue can be getting flights. As PT I'm not at the airport all the time to pick up new intro/sightseeing flights that could lead to a student. That said, I just got a new student this weekend. Also, how available or flexible will your time be to schedule with a student so they can finish their rating/licence.

As a new instructor (class 4) you must work and be supervised at a flight training unit, or school.

PM me if you want any more info.

maturepilot83
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by maturepilot83 »