Winter ski operating temps

This forum has been developed to discuss Bush Flying & Specialty Air Service topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore, Rudder Bug

Lost Lake
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Winter ski operating temps

Post by Lost Lake »

Hi folks. I have lots of experience on floats but am virtually a virgin on light aircraft on skis. So I have a couple of questions.
1. On a day fishing trip, how long can I park a plane and what is the lowest temp I can expect without a heat source.

2. What is the best. way to keep the engine warm if I want to park on colder days.
3. If there's slush, tips for parking the plane. Cutting logs to fit under skis?

4. Any other tips?
---------- ADS -----------

What little I do know is either not important or I've forgotten it!
Transport Canada's mission statement: We're not happy until you're not happy
swixtt
Rank 2
Rank 2

Re: Winter ski operating temps

Post by swixtt »

you have covers, right? what kind of bird? probably you know best on what temps you need heat to fire up that bird.
i'd take a little generator with you.... do you have a Tanis or other elec heat source you use when at homebase?
slush or not i'd lift those skis with a buddy's help if possible.
take an avi shovel, rope and sshoes of course.
take what you need to spend a few nights if need be.... but that should be in there already anyway.

pilotidentity
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by pilotidentity »

Lost Lake wrote: Wed Jan 12, 2022 7:17 pm Hi folks. I have lots of experience on floats but am virtually a virgin on light aircraft on skis. So I have a couple of questions.
1. On a day fishing trip, how long can I park a plane and what is the lowest temp I can expect without a heat source.

2. What is the best. way to keep the engine warm if I want to park on colder days.
I used to wait for guys staking, -25 C. Cessna 185 on skis. Engine cover a must, regularly start the engine to warm it up then put the cover back on.

Found
Rank 2
Rank 2