Flat pay and unions...

Discuss topics relating to Air Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Flight94
Rank 2
Rank 2

Flat pay and unions...

Post by Flight94 »

As someone who is considering AC in the future, can someone explain why the union allows the abysmal starting pay? Is this something that will be actively pursued on the next CBA?

I'm on the outside looking in; I have no knowledge of the inner workings of ACPA.

While I'd like to work for AC, I cannot feed a family on 55k(?).
---------- ADS -----------

Bingo Fuel
Rank 5
Rank 5

Re: Flat pay and unions...

Post by Bingo Fuel »

Pursued? Probably. I'm hopeful we can make changes in 2024.

However, in the past the Company has only used other Canadian airlines as benchmarks for pilot pay.

Airlines in the USA are not considered comparative as long as Canadian pilots remain ineligible for employment there.

Personally I'm hopeful that they remove flat pay from Widebody FO positions, as they've had problems filling those positions with qualified pilots. That might make things a little better, and allow pilots to get off flat pay faster. Right now there is no financial incentive for a flat pay pilot to take a Widebody FO position when they'll be paid the same as a Relief Pilot.

"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Tbayer2021
Rank 6
Rank 6

Post by Tbayer2021 »

Why would they change it when they have almost every pilot wanting to fly for them despite 4 years of flat pay?

Flight94
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by Flight94 »

Right, I understand why the company would not want to change it. However my question is why does the union allow it? If the company had all the say, with no union, I'm sure the pay would be even lower, and the applications would still be abundant.

Tbayer2021
Rank 6
Rank 6

Post by Tbayer2021 »