Is Confederation College the right choice for me?

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

Flyinghorologist
Rank 0
Rank 0

Is Confederation College the right choice for me?

Post by Flyinghorologist »

Hi all,

New member here. I have been accepted into the 2022 class at Confederation College for September. In terms of my background I am a 24 year old male who has completed an university degree as well as attended a year of medical school. I dropped out of medical school the previous year as I decided that I will pursue my lifelong dream of becoming an airline pilot. Although I have no previous flying background, both my uncle and cousin were combat pilots. I am from Nova Scotia but have resided in Ontario for the last 7 months. The reasons why I am leaning towards going to Confederation vs a flight school is that I would be able to access student loans, grants, and scholarships. I do not have infinite funds and neither do my parents who support me as much as they can. In preparation for Confederation, I have read through cover to cover "From the Ground Up" and have spent a decent amount of time on Microsoft Flight Sim. Additionally, I plan to take a couple flying lessons come spring just to get an early taste (I have only flown in a single engine when I went skydiving). Ideally, I would like to get a good education, not go into heavy debt, have the skills and qualifications to make me competitive for a FO position, and start flying professionally as fast as possible. At this point in my life, I do not really care about "the college/university experience" as I have been there and done that, I just want to take care of business and get my dream career started.

My question(s) is/are:

1. In consideration of my current situation, would YOU go to Confed or private flight school?