US / Canada Differences Training

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

mac210
Rank 0
Rank 0

US / Canada Differences Training

Post by mac210 »

I'm an FAA-certificated pilot based in the US and am planning to fly my high-performance single up to Canada for the first time this summer.

I have been reading through all of the TC documentation on Canadian procedures, but ideally would also like to get some 'ground' instruction from someone who has experience flying IFR and VFR on both sides of the border.

I was thinking perhaps some school or private instructors might offer remote instruction over video chat or similar. Or perhaps there's a good course on the differences that I haven't found yet.

Any recommendations?
---------- ADS -----------

Bede
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: US / Canada Differences Training

Post by Bede »

When you say high performance, what do you mean? (There's a big difference in just that term I believe.)

mac210
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by mac210 »

Turbo 210

fish4life
Rank 10
Rank 10

Post by fish4life »

Not considered a high performance airplane in Canada

mac210
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by mac210 »

Great, one difference learned!

I'm primarily interested in differences in procedures and terminology. I don't expect most of those will be A/C type specific.

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »

Different circuit (not “pattern”) entry procedures for uncontrolled aerodromes. Look up the requirements for Mandatory Frequencies at the busier uncontrolled aerodromes too.

Class C airspace needs clearance to enter, with contact only required for Class D. Class B airspace (found only above 12,500) requires flight under controlled VFR, wherein you must request, accept, and follow a clearance.