Transferring to flight operations department

Discuss topics relating to Air Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

ellinas
Rank 3
Rank 3

Transferring to flight operations department

Post by ellinas »

Hello Air Canada employees.

I am an employee of Air Canada the past 32 years working in under the wing departments and I’m also a licenced pilot that has as you can say not quite given up on maybe obtaining a pilot job. I’ve been flying on and off for over 30 years but my flight time is under 1000 hours.

Is there a process that if I obtain some more flight time can I transfer to the flight department pilot group and continue accruing seniority company wise not pilot wise.

Only because of the pilot shortage I thought I’d try one more time becoming an air canada pilot instead of retiring from my below the wing job and finding something else to fly.

Your thoughts would be appreciated
---------- ADS -----------

if you are on the ground I guess there is now way but to look up!
altiplano
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Transferring to flight operations department

Post by altiplano »

1000 hours or so won't get you into a flying job at AC (military excluded) and there is no "transfer" to flight ops.

If you are serious at trying, I would see if you can get an LOA from your AC position and get a job flying at Jazz, pile on some time for a couple years and then try to get to mainline. In all respects you would join as a new hire pilot, but you may be able to transfer your service date for pass travel.

ellinas
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by ellinas »

altiplano wrote: Mon Aug 01, 2022 9:21 pm 1000 hours or so won't get you into a flying job at AC (military excluded) and there is no "transfer" to flight ops.