Do they hire pilots with open work permits (PGWP)?

Got a hot employment or interview tip to help a fellow aviator find a job or looking for a little job advice place your posting here.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

tanxiaoneng
Rank 1
Rank 1

Do they hire pilots with open work permits (PGWP)?

Post by tanxiaoneng »

Hi folks,

I'm an international student finishing my CPL and soon multi-IFR. I know many if not most flight schools have no problem hiring graduated candidates with a work permit, but what are the chances at local airlines?

A PGWP work permit doesn't require sponsorship or anything. It is work authorization for graduates to work any job. But somehow I have a feeling that it'll be a problem with airlines.

Anybody has any practical experiences?

Cheers,
---------- ADS -----------

Aspiredtofly
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Do they hire pilots with open work permits (PGWP)?

Post by Aspiredtofly »

tanxiaoneng wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 12:01 am Hi folks,

I'm an international student finishing my CPL and soon multi-IFR. I know many if not most flight schools have no problem hiring graduated candidates with a work permit, but what are the chances at local airlines?

A PGWP work permit doesn't require sponsorship or anything. It is work authorization for graduates to work any job. But somehow I have a feeling that it'll be a problem with airlines.

Cheers,
Major local airlines might be a problem but there are alot of small operators that posts pilot vacancy with one of its requirement mentioning *Must have the right to work and live in Canada*. That sometimes would not mean for international students or for someone who does not have a permanent resident bare minimum, so it's best if you ask the company directly through email or ask someone who works there.

tanxiaoneng
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by tanxiaoneng »

Aspiredtofly wrote: Sat Sep 17, 2022 12:54 am

Cheers,