Most efficent way to get CPL in Toronto? (Relatively inexpensive & faster)

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

lizaintheair
Rank 0
Rank 0

Most efficent way to get CPL in Toronto? (Relatively inexpensive & faster)

Post by lizaintheair »

Hi everyone. I am an absolute beginner when it comes to flying aircraft. I have done some ground school online, however I have no time in the air yet. I have my category 1 medical from TC, as I intend on getting my CPL within the next year. I am just wondering what's the most efficient way to go about this.

I have researched various flight schools near me, (ex. Brampton Flight Centre) and they seemed to cost around $90,000. They however insure you get your 200 flight hours in, as well as all your ratings. I am sure there is a cheaper, faster, and more efficient way to go about getting my CPL (and eventually ATPL). As an absolute newbie, please help me out here!
---------- ADS -----------

digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Most efficent way to get CPL in Toronto? (Relatively inexpensive & faster)

Post by digits_ »

Not sure you'll find much cheaper in Toronto. You could contact this guy, he seems to provide efficient training https://alecmyersflighttraining.com/

As an AvCanada discussion grows longer:
-the probability of 'entitlement' being mentioned, approaches 1
-one will be accused of using bad airmanship
photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »

The only way you can possibly go from zero to CPL in one year around the GTA is to buy your own plane. I don’t think there are any FTUs that can provide you an instructor *and* an airplane with adequate frequency, given the weather and the number of students who are trying to get lessons around here. That’s fairly cost-neutral overall, but involves a heavy capital outlay.