Is it realistic to work as a pilot in BC for your whole career?

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

nutlord
Rank 2
Rank 2

Is it realistic to work as a pilot in BC for your whole career?

Post by nutlord »

I'm considering becoming a commercial pilot, but I'd like to live in BC for my training, and my whole career. Is this a realistic goal? I have no flight experience as a pilot, so I'd be starting from scratch.
---------- ADS -----------

Last edited by nutlord on Fri Nov 04, 2022 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Is it realistic to work as a pilot in BC for your whole career?

Post by digits_ »

If BC includes small isolated communities, then sure.
If you mean 'Vancouver', then it's unlikely.

As an AvCanada discussion grows longer:
-the probability of 'entitlement' being mentioned, approaches 1
-one will be accused of using bad airmanship
nutlord
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by nutlord »

Nah, I mean Vancouver or the island. Is the idea of working as a flight instructor in Vancouver for your whole career, or doing medivac work to Vancouver improbable?

digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by digits_ »

nutlord wrote: Wed Nov 02, 2022 2:20 pm Nah, I mean Vancouver or the island. Is the idea of working as a flight instructor in Vancouver for your whole career, or doing medivac work to Vancouver improbable?
Starting out might be tricky. There's quite a bit of competition for jobs close to city centers.

You could probably fly medevac all your life if you wanted to, it's just unlikely that you'd want to. It's generally not the nicest job for your body (night flying). Perhaps there are alternatives for that in BC, I do not know.

As an AvCanada discussion grows longer:
-the probability of 'entitlement' being mentioned, approaches 1
-one will be accused of using bad airmanship
f70d40
Rank 0
Rank 0