Fraudulant Freelance Instructor GTA

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

khedrei
Rank 5
Rank 5

Fraudulant Freelance Instructor GTA

Post by khedrei »

I wanted to report on this to make people aware and maybe get some help for the people affected. Perhaps if someone thinks this is important enough, it can be made sticky?

I am a Class 2 instructor working in the GTA and have discovered that there is a fraudulant instructor offering freelance instruction in the GTA. The two incidents I am aware of happened in Burlington CZBA. While nothing official has been determined (obviously TC has to investigate, prove, witness, etc etc) but a contact at TC searched this persons name and informed me that not only is this person a Class 4 instructor and not allowed to freelance, but their Class 4 Instructor Rating has been expired for almost 9 years, preventing them from legally instructing anyone, anywhere.

If I am allowed to, I will post this person name in here as well as the Kijiji ad that they have up promoting this fraud.

This person has collected thousands of dollars in exchange for sub par training, none of whice can be logged towards a license or rating and they have risked peoples lives, their aircraft, and their livlihood with liability risks which an insurance company likely would not have covered had something happened. I don't know how many people this has happened to. This kind of thing makes me sick. As a person who cares about my reputation in the industry, who tries my best to follow the rules and give the best training I possibly can to new and licensed pilots, this is disgusting.