How hard is it to get the first job after cpl

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

travelisfun
Rank 1
Rank 1

How hard is it to get the first job after cpl

Post by travelisfun »

Given I am willing to go anywhere in Canada and that I am willing to go on a road trip to knock on some operator's doors, will I be able to find a first flying job eventually with effort? How competitive are these first jobs to work on floats or to instruct?
---------- ADS -----------

Vsquared
Rank 2
Rank 2

Re: How hard is it to get the first job after cpl

Post by Vsquared »

Can't say what the float or instructing landscape looks like, as I have no experience there. But it wasn't the easiest thing to get my first job when things were on the up. Can't really recall seeing many, if any, entry level jobs the last few months. If you're willing to work a ramp, and stay the course, you'll end up in a seat eventually.

rwy31
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by rwy31 »

its very competitive as theres no shortage of 250 hour wonders , also its a matter of pure luck / right place right time kind of thing

lowoleo22
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by lowoleo22 »

Float jobs pop up early in the year to prep for the Summer season. Expect a dock position until they have a flying spot available. There are jobs out there, but it can be tricky to get your first one. Make connections wherever you can, most first jobs are given by word of mouth and a good reference.

Bug_Stomper_01
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by Bug_Stomper_01 »

Not easy, good luck!

lownslow
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by lownslow »

It doesn’t come free but on the other hand every professional pilot you see did it so it’s not some hopeless impossibility.

Bug_Stomper_01
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by Bug_Stomper_01 »