Leaving current job I'm unhappy with for aviation

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

iluvmxc
Rank 0
Rank 0

Leaving current job I'm unhappy with for aviation

Post by iluvmxc »

Hey everyone, I know you all hear a bunch of the same posts but I haven't been able to find any posts with similar questions as mine, and hoping you could help guide me.

I'm 22 years old and already graduated from university with a bachelor of science and am working full time currently for 68k + bonuses. However, I am deeply unhappy with what I do for a living mostly because ever since I was a kid I wanted to be a pilot. To this day, I still wish I started my piloting career earlier.

I am a dual citizen of both Canada and Italy and am currently in the process of getting my private pilot license. I know that the state of the aviation industry is dreadful with regard to pay and the work environment. I understand it is competitive, ant not sure whether my degree, work experience, volunteer, and other extracurriculars would help me stand out. I guess I am wondering if you would think it's worth it to continue my licenses on the side as a hustle as I continue to work full time.

From what I understand, I would need an ATPL to do the tests for the EATA license, so I would have to make first a commitment to getting my licenses here in Canada first.

I am just sort of at a crossroads now because I was always the kid and still am the person that plane spots, takes joy rides, etc... but I fear that I will be screwed if I leave my current job.

Any advice on what I should do would be greatly appreciated!!
---------- ADS -----------

frog
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator

Re: Leaving current job I'm unhappy with for aviation

Post by frog »

The earlier you do your move, the better it is.

digits_
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by digits_ »