Looking at post secondary options

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

ToasterDude_
Rank 0
Rank 0

Looking at post secondary options

Post by ToasterDude_ »

Hey ho, so currently I'm a grade 12 student in highschool and I've applied to a fair few places to become a pilot but I'm unsure on what exactly to do since I've received conflicting information from a few people. So currently I've applied to Waterloo aviation(geo&aviation,Science&aviation),western university aviation,seneca aviation,the centennial ciatpl aviation program,fanshawe aviation and I'm thinking on applying to a flight school in Brampton (Brampton Flight Centre). Now from what some people have told me pilots with degrees get a fair bit more in the long run in terms of pay while others say that the airlines don't give a hoot about a degree in 90% of cases. My parents want me to go to a university but I am starting to doubt how useful it would be so if I could get some general guidance on things.I'm personally gravitating to either western aviation because we have relatives in London I can live with or the centennial program since its a 2 or 3 year program.

First off would it be better to go to a university or college,how useful is a degree in terms of becoming a pilot for the airlines and lastly which of the programs above would you folks recommend? Any advice in general would be nifty.
---------- ADS -----------

Bede
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: Looking at post secondary options

Post by Bede »

Lots of info on this forum on these options.

In summary:
Airlines don't care whether you have college or university- it's the same number of points on the application from my understanding. You also won't make more money with a degree.